The My Tasks - Results Work area is displayed once a result is selected from the Results List. The Results Work Area is used to review the individual result for a patient and add the necessary findings.
Result Work Area Actions
The Print option will be used to print out a copy of the selected results.
When the Print button is clicked, you will be prompted to choose to 'Include Practice Findings' and/or to 'Include Patient Findings'. These findings that are entered will print at the bottom of the report if selected.
Result Options - Edit Result
The 'Edit Result' option is used when manually entering results into this window. This is rarely used and is disabled for electronic lab results.
When clicked, it will show you the individual data points for the selected result if it has already been entered or received electronically.
Result Options - Settings
The 'Settings' window is used to launch the User Settings related to how this window displays and works for the individual user that is logged in.
When clicked, the Settings window will display, and the user will be able to set the following values:
- Display Comments: If on, shows "Report Comments", if off, report comments are hidden. This is a specific data structure for some type of lab results. We recommend this be left on.
- Display Notes: If on, note records (NTE fields) will be displayed. If off, note records will be hidden. We recommend this be left on.
- Display Orders: Every result will have a parent order that this result is for. Users may choose to hide the order and just display the individual results on the screen. We recommend this be left on.
- Display Empty Results: Sometimes this system "expects" a result to be received based on the order, but the result may not yet be returned yet. This setting will determine if the placeholders for the result fields are visible when no actual result is available. We recommend this be turned off.
- Display Additional columns: Some users may to hide some columns on their results. If off, the following columns are hidden: Lab, Date, Status. We have not specific recommendation for this.
- Display Abnormal Results in red: When a result flag is anything other than Normal, the result is assumed to be abnormal. In these cases, the system can highlight the abnormal result line in red to draw attention to it. We recommend this setting be left on.
- Display Abnormal Results in bold: When a result flag is anything other than Normal, the result is assumed to be abnormal. In these cases, the system can display the abnormal result line in bold to draw attention to it. We recommend this setting be left on.
- Normal Finding/Activity Settings and Abnormal Findings/Activity Settings: The primary purpose of the Results Work area is to review results and enter findings. The settings described here are used to expedite the review process. Users will have a 'Normal' button that can be clicked when entering findings that will set the values defined as well as an 'Abnormal' button. When click the following fields will be st:
- Order Processor: The user or user group that the ORDER will be assigned to. If left blank, the order processor will not change. Recommendation - leave this blank as the order is often handled separate from the result. If the order processor is changed, this will affect the My Tasks - Orders section, not My Tasks - Results.
- Result Processor: The user or user group that the RESULT will be assigned to. If left blank, the result processor will not change.
- Order Status: The status that the ORDER will be set to. If left blank, the order status will not change. Recommendation - leave this blank as the order is often handled separate from the result. If the order status is changed, this will affect the My Tasks - Orders section, not My Tasks - Results section.
- Set Result Status to Closed: Results only have two statuses - open and closed. If open, this means that the result will show up in the selected processors task list to work on. If closed, the result will not show up in any processors task list. When assigning a result to a new processor, leave this value blank to ensure it displays in their queue.
- Order Finding: The default findings that you want to add to the result. These are used for internal communication only.
- Patient Comments: The default comments that you want to share with a patient when this result is shared with the patient via My Medical Locker.
- MML Send: Determines if this result is sent to MyMedicalLocker or not.
Result Options - Flows
The 'Flows' window is used to view and graph any lab result that has been received for this patient over time.
When selected, the 'Flows' window will be displayed and you can see the past data.
To view this data in a graph, select the desired values on the left and click 'Graph'.
Result Options - Letters
The 'Letters' option allows a user to print out a letter for the patient.
Clicking this option will display a list of letters that can be generated from the result screen.
Once the letter has been selected, click Print. This will pull in the letter and all of the corresponding fields that have been setup for that letter that will make it patient specific.
Result Options - HL7
The 'HL7' option is used to display the electronic lab result file that was received that generated this result.
Result Options - Audit Log
The 'Audit Log' option is used to display the audit log for this specific result. The audit log tracks changes, views, and other activities related to a given item.
Patient Options - Display Patient
The 'Display Patient' option is used to launch the patient setup window for the given patient.
Clicking this will open the patient Setup window in it's own screen so that you can review and change demographic, insurance, emergency contact, and other details as needed.
Patient Options - Send Communication
The 'Communication' option is used to launch a new Office Communications window with the patient and result attached.
When clicked, the new communication will automatically load. The patient chart will be listed as an attachment along with the result. This communication can then be sent internally to other users to communicate information about this patient and result.
Display Vitals Timeline
The 'Vitals Timeline' button is used to launch the Vitals Timeline that is typically found in the EMR. This window may be helpful in analyzing complex data sets like results, medications, and vitals all in one place.
Clicking this button will launch this window: Vitals Clinical Marker
View the Result
The result will be displayed in the middle portion of the screen. Keep in mind, the way that this screen looks may be different based on the settings for your user.
Enter and Review Findings
The findings that have already been entered, as well as the process of entering findings, takes place in the area just below the result. The left side of the screen will display findings that have been entered in the past. The area on the right will be used to enter new findings. The process of entering findings is covered more here: Entering Findings.
One thing to keep in mind about results, is that the lab may send the same result multiple times. This may happen when preliminary results are sent and then final results are sent once completed. This can happen when an add-on test is called in. Or, it can happen for any other reason that lab determines. When this happens, our application will link the results together. Prior versions of the same result can be viewed by clicking through the paging buttons at the bottom of the screen. The most recent will result will be on top.